Wiping a terminated server: Difference between revisions
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Astropoint (talk | contribs) Created page with "To wipe a now unused server, turn the server off, booting into the SSD (Ubuntu, username and password gigatux) and then "dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=1M" to blat the main ha..." |
Astropoint (talk | contribs) No edit summary |
||
| Line 1: | Line 1: | ||
To wipe a now unused server, turn the server off, booting into the SSD (Ubuntu, username and password gigatux) and then | To wipe a now unused server, turn the server off, booting into the SSD (Ubuntu, username and password gigatux) and then | ||
* ''dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=1M'' | |||
To get an idea of how far along it is, in another terminal, run | |||
* ''kill -USR1 <PID of the dd process>'' | |||
This displays the current progress, not a continually updated one, so it needs to be run again to get the status next time. | |||
Latest revision as of 08:34, 30 March 2017
To wipe a now unused server, turn the server off, booting into the SSD (Ubuntu, username and password gigatux) and then
- dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=1M
To get an idea of how far along it is, in another terminal, run
- kill -USR1 <PID of the dd process>
This displays the current progress, not a continually updated one, so it needs to be run again to get the status next time.