Wiping a terminated server: Difference between revisions

From GigaTux Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Created page with "To wipe a now unused server, turn the server off, booting into the SSD (Ubuntu, username and password gigatux) and then "dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=1M" to blat the main ha..."
 
No edit summary
 
Line 1: Line 1:
To wipe a now unused server, turn the server off, booting into the SSD (Ubuntu, username and password gigatux) and then "dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=1M" to blat the main hard drive
To wipe a now unused server, turn the server off, booting into the SSD (Ubuntu, username and password gigatux) and then  
* ''dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=1M''
 
To get an idea of how far along it is, in another terminal, run
 
* ''kill -USR1 <PID of the dd process>''
 
This displays the current progress, not a continually updated one, so it needs to be run again to get the status next time.

Latest revision as of 08:34, 30 March 2017

To wipe a now unused server, turn the server off, booting into the SSD (Ubuntu, username and password gigatux) and then

  • dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=1M

To get an idea of how far along it is, in another terminal, run

  • kill -USR1 <PID of the dd process>

This displays the current progress, not a continually updated one, so it needs to be run again to get the status next time.