Wiping a terminated server

From GigaTux Wiki
Revision as of 08:34, 30 March 2017 by Astropoint (talk | contribs)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

To wipe a now unused server, turn the server off, booting into the SSD (Ubuntu, username and password gigatux) and then

  • dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=1M

To get an idea of how far along it is, in another terminal, run

  • kill -USR1 <PID of the dd process>

This displays the current progress, not a continually updated one, so it needs to be run again to get the status next time.